BMW Reverse RDS Bluetooth integration

Hi, I want to share my new project πŸ™‚

I have just put a Bluetooth receiver into my BMW Reverse RDS.

Now I can make phone calls while driving and I will speak through my car stereo.

I can also listen to music from my phone and control the playback (Play, Pause, Next, Previous)

I bought the Bluetooth device from ebay. It looks like this:

Bluetooth 1

Bluetooth 1

Bluetooth 2

Bluetooth 2

Bluetooth 3

Bluetooth 3

Steps:

1. I disassembled the bluetooth receiver and soldered a cable to the stereo output (3.5 mm jack)

2. I also soldered another cable to the mini USB port (this is the charger input)

3. I drilled a hole in the Reverse RDS and put the cables through that hole so I can solder them inside the casette player.

4. I soldered the stereo audio out cable of the bluetooth receiver to the pins in the picture (TDA7310):

TDA7310

TDA7310 AUX in

5. I soldered the another cable (power supply) to the USB charger inside the casette player. (I have integrated the USB power supply inside the Reverse RDS player, so the Bluetooth will always have enough power to play.)

6. Finally the whole thing looks like this:

(the ugly thing comming out of the casette player is a base of a tablet holder πŸ™‚ don’t look at it πŸ™‚ and the ugly jack is my tablet charger :))

Look only the rounded thing – the bluetooth receiver.

Reverse RDS with Bluetooth

Reverse RDS with Bluetooth

This entry was posted in BMW (Do it yourself) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to BMW Reverse RDS Bluetooth integration

  1. david iaschi says:

    Dear friend, where did you take the 5V for USB from the inside of the Reverse RDS Tape?

  2. e39Lover says:

    Hello,
    thank you for your informative post. Will this modification make the casette player inoperatible? In other words, are you still able play casettes as well?

  3. e39Lover says:

    Actually I meant to comment on the modification “AUX to Reverse RDS”…

  4. adoumm says:

    Hi,

    Did you manage to control the playback from the Steering wheel ? Im trying to find where to solder in order to achieve this.

    Regards,
    Adam

Leave a comment